UPD Meet the Irish 'mystery act'

by Alexandru Busa 126 views

One week ahead of this year's Eurosong, the names of the four artists that form the 5th so called 'mystery act' of the Irish final., were revealed today by the local media. Gari Deegan, Tammy Browne, Marilyn Bane & Shane Creevey will try to convince the Irish public and juries that a novelty act might be the country's best choice as a representative of the Emerald Isle.

The unnamed yet quartet should be officially launched today by Gari Deegan, Tammy Browne, Marilyn Bane & Shane Creevey. They were brought together by the chairman of EMI Ireland, Willie Kavanagh, who stated that a novelty group would be Ireland's best choice for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011. Their Eurosong bid, Shine on, was written by Patrick Mahoney and will be revealed tomorrow during a special documentary aired by RTÉ One.

As esctoday.com previously reported, RTÉ is facing with a very difficult decision as a 30 seconds snippet of the Eurosong entry by Jedward and Rebecca Creighton was leaked on the internet via Amazon. The official rules of the Irish national selection state that no entry should be released until the date of the Eurosong final on February 11th. This means that the X-factor twins couldbe disqualified from the competition.

esctoday.com will keep you posted about the latest changes in this year's Irish national selection.

Update : RTÉ have announced the official name of the quartet : Bling.

This is how the final line-up of Eurosong 2011 is looking like :

  1. Don MescallTalking with Jennifer (Ronan Hardiman & Don Mescall ) – mentored by Ronan Hardiman
  2. Jedward featuring Rebecca CreightonLipstick (Dan Priddy, Lars Jensen and Martin Larson) – mentored by Caroline Downey-Desmond
  3. BlingShine On (Patrick Mahoney) – mentored by Willie Kavanagh
  4. Vard SistersSend me an angel (Liam Lawton) – mentored by Liam Lawton
  5. Nikki Kavanagh Falling (Christina Schilling, Camilla Gottschalck, Jonas Gladnikoff and Hanif Sabzevari) – mentored by David Hayes

Ireland will compete in the second half of the second semi-final of this year's Eurovision Song Contest.