35 acts qualify in Ukraine

by Marcus Klier 83 views

35 acts have qualified through the casting process of the Ukrainian national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 to compete in the next stage. 15 acts are expected to take part in the national final to be held on 26th and 27th February 2011.

Apart from Verka Serduchka, who represented Ukraine in 2007, and Anastasiya Prikhodko, who represented Russia in 2009, some former national final contestants qualified for the next round. In October, the possible songs for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 will be presented.

The complete list is as follows:

  • Alex Mathias
  • Alexander Kvarta
  • Anastasia Prikhodko
  • Arina Domsky
  • Armiya
  • Bakhroma
  • Christina Kim
  • Dakha Brahka
  • Daria Medova
  • DASH
  • Denis Povaliy
  • Eduard Romanyuta
  • El Kravchuk
  • Elena Korneev
  • Heksi
  • Inna Voronova
  • Ivan Berezovsky
  • Jamala
  • Masha Sobko
  • Max Novitsky
  • Metropolitan
  • Mika Newton
  • Mila Nitich
  • Natalia Pugacheva
  • Para Normalnyh
  • Shanis
  • Shant
  • Tatiana Vorzheva
  • Verka Serduchka
  • Vitaly Halay
  • Vladislav Levitsky
  • Vroda
  • Yakov Smirnov
  • Zaklopky
  • Zlata Ognevych

The rules of the national selection have already been changed a couple of time but currently it looks like it is going to proceed the following way: In early September, a special TV programme will air showing how the 35 acts were chosen. In October, the chosen artists will perform their final songs and the top 15 for the national final will be determined. In the national final, the winner will be chosen by a mixture of jury voting and televoting. The show will be hosted by Tatiana Goncharova and Timur Mirushnishenko.

In 2010, Ukraine was represented by Alyosha, who finished seventh in the second semi final and tenth in the final with her song Sweet people.