TOP TEN: No. 10, 9 and 8

by Marcus Klier 292 views

The fifth TOP TEN list starts today with the places 10, 9 and 8 being announced. As announced on Saturday, this week's topic are the TOP TEN longest-running spin-offs and imitations.

The list features shows and contests that are either real spin-offs of the Eurovision Song Contest organised by the EBU or contests that follow a similar idea.

So here we start:

No. 10 – Bundesvision Song Contest (2005-present)

In 2004, Stefan Raab represented Germany the fourth time as a composer. After a seventh place in 1998 and a fifth place in 2000, he was disppointed by Max Mutzke's eighth place with the song Can't wait until tonight. That's why he created his own little Eurovision Song Contest called Bundesvision Song Contest. Unlike different countries, the sixteen federal states of Germany compete every year presenting one song each. The artists are chosen by Stefan Raab and he not only invites famous bands and singers but also gives chances to newcomers. All songs have to be at least partly performed in German. The first edition was held in 2005 and it has been held every year since. The rules are pretty much the same as in the Eurovision Song Contest with every state giving 12, 10 and 8-1 points to their top ten. However there is a major difference: The federal states can also vote for themselves. That usually means that all states get at least one set of 12, but there were some major exceptions. Especially North Rhine-Westphalia, the state with the largest population, often does not give 12 to itself. The lowest mark were five points for band AK4711 in 2006. Usually held in February, the show was postponed to 1st October this year due to Stefan Raab's involvement in the German national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2010.

Since 2005, many famous bands and artists have taken part in the Bundesvision Song Contest. Among them are Juli, first winners in 2005, Samy Deluxe, Sido, Mousse T., Seeed, Oomph, Jan Delay, Culcha Candela, Peter Fox and Cassandra Steen. In October, Ich+Ich, one of the best selling German bands in the last ten years, will compete. Other bands became famous (or more famous) due to their participation. Among them are bands like Klee, Revolverheld and singer Clueso.

There were also some participants with a Eurovision Song Contest connection. Two members of No Angels, German representatives in 2008, had already taken part in the Bundesvision Song Contest: In 2005, Sandy Mölling finished 15th (equal last) for Rhineland-Palatinate while the year after, Nadja Benaissa finished fourth for Hesse. MIA. and Laith Al-Deen, who both took part in the 2004 Eurovision Song Contest national final took part in the Bundesvision Song Contest 2007 and 2008 representing Berlin and Baden-Württemberg respectively. Apocalyptica, who performed the interval act of the Eurovision Song Contest 2007 in Helsinki had represented Baden-Württemberg along with singer Martá Jandová in 2005.

Apocalytica feat. Marta performing their Bundesvision Song Contest 2005 entry (fifth place):

No. 9 – MGP Nordic (2002-2009)

Already in 2000 and 2001, a Danish contest for children was held in Denmark under the title De unges melodi grand prix. In 2002, Sweden and Norway joined the contest and Scandinavia therefore had its own little competition for children called MGP Nordic. In 2003, the first edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest took place and the MGP Nordic was cancelled. However, after three years the contest returned in 2006 and was held every year until 2009. In 2007, apart from the three Scandinavian countries, a fourth Nordic country joined the competition: Finland. The rules of the contest are rather simple: Every country sends three entries, which usually had been chosen during a national final. In the editions between 2006 and 2008, a voting formula was used that based the points given on the percentage achieved in the televoting (i.e. 25% equaled 25 or 2500 points). In 2009, a voting format more similar to the one of the Eurovision Song Contest was introduced again: The top three are given 12, 8 and 6 points. The MGP Nordic contest 2010 was cancelled but it is expected that the competition will return in 2011.

As it is a contest for children, not many famous artists have taken part. However, some of the acts became fmaous after their participation. 2006 winner SEB from Denmark have released four studios to date and they are still performing together. Celine Helgemo won in 2007 and her debut album was certified platinum in her home country Norway. The BlackSheeps won for Norway in 2008 and their winning song was a number one hit on homeground. So far, only two of the contestants has a Eurovision Song Contest connection: Linn Nygard and Sister Twister represented Finland in MGP Nordic 2007 and they took part in the Finnish national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2010. Furthermore, Nadia Hasanoui, co-host of Eurovision 2010, had already co-hosted MGP Nordic in 2007. Alcazar member and Melodifestivalen contestant Therese Merkel co-hosted the show in 2006.

Winning song in 2008 for Norway:

No. 8 – Liet International (2002-present)

The Liet international contest has been held since 2002 and it honours the "best new song in a Europeanminority language". It is an international spin-off of the popular Frisian song festival. On the official website, it is stated that "Liet International has grown to be the anthitetis of the Eurovision Song Contest , with the big difference that Liet prohibits singing in English". Unlike in the Eurovision Song Contest, there are also two prizes: A jury award and a public award.

Some of the acts competing have received some international attention after their participation. The most auccessful minority language so far is Sámi, as four of the six editions held so far were won by songs in that language.

Winning song 2009 by band SomBy:

Tomorrow, no. 7 and 6 on the list will be revealed.