Australia searches for a song!

by Russell Davies 76 views

The organisers of Our Sound the Asia-Pacific Song Contest have announced the launch of the 2010 Australian song selection. Australian singers and songwriters are invited to submit their songs for consideration and engage in a selection process that will last from June to September 2010. The winners will have the honour of representing Australia at the first Our Sound Asia-Pacific Song Contest to be held in Mumbai, India on 26th and 28th November 2010.

As with Eurovision Song Contest all songs entered to the Australian national selection must be of maximum 3 minutes duration. According to the contest rules a maximum of 5 group member will be permitted to perform on stage as opposed to 6 artist which are permitted to perform at Eurovision. The voting format will be the same as in the Eurovision Song Contest with the top ten of each country being awarded 1-8, 10 and 12 points. The Asia-Pacific version will have an interesting innovation that will allow each person to vote for their own country as well as for another country.

To participate in the Australian song selection each artist must be over age of 18 on or before 1st May 2010. Only citizens and permanent residents of Australia are eligible to participate in the contests. Exceptions will need the written approval of the contest organisers, Asiavision. Songs will be shortlisted by the Australian jury, a panel comprising representatives from Asiavision, the Music Industry and the Australian Public. The Australian Public will have the opportunity to vote for their favourite song. Details of an Australian national final show have not been released at this time. The winner of the public vote will represent Australia at Our Sound in Mumbai. The contest will be broadcast in Australia on SBS Television, Australia's national public television channel in November and also on

Along with Australia at least thirteen other participating countries will perform at the first Asia-Pacific Song Contest including Bangladesh, Cambodia, China, Hong Kong, India (host country), Indonesia, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand and Vietnam. The contest will be broadcast in 44 countries and has a potential audience of three billion people.