Watch now: Eurovizija 2018 kicks off in Lithuania

by Roy Knoops 1,297 views

The 2018 Eurovision season goes on in full force, as tonight Lithuania continues its search for a representative with the first Heat of Eurovizija 2018.

Heat 1 of Lithuania’s Eurovizija 2018 (officially Eurovizijos dainų konkurso nacionalinė atranka 2018) promises to be an entertaining musical show, the candidates eager to perform their potential Eurovision songs on stage.

How to watch

Eurovizija 2018 will be hosted by Mantas Stonkus and Ugnė Skonsmanaitė, broadcast from the LRT Studios, starting at 20:00 CET (21:00 local time), Saturday 6 January, via the following channels:

The show

Broadcaster LRT has selected a diverse line-up in their search for the perfect Eurovision 2018 representative. 50 acts and artists, divided over 8 Heats and a Semi-Final, will lead up to the Grand Final of Eurovizijos 2018 on 10 March.

The participants

The artists and songs of Heat 1 are:

  • Ausra DifarteSomeday
  • Benas MalakauskasMy memories
  • DangeNetikra laimė
  • Evaldas VaikasasBlind
  • Germante KinderyteTurn it up
  • Goda SasnauskaiteFire fountain
  • Ieva ZasimauskaiteWhen we were old
  • Justin3Born to be wild one
  • Lukas NorkunasTegu
  • Meda MeskauskaiteBlood roses
  • Milda RasilaviciuteI think about you
  • MoneeStanding here
  • Natalia ChareckajaSerious

Heat 1 was pre-recorded on Wednesday 3 January 2018, with the jury votes already being decided. However, the jury vote is 50% of the eventual result.

Saturday 6 January, the public may vote and deliver the remaining 50% of the votes, and we will know the ultimate result of Heat 1.

Lithuania in Eurovision

Lithuania made its debut at Eurovision 1994 with Ovidijus Vyšniauskas and the song Lopšinė mylimai (My beloved’s lullaby).

The country achieved its best results in 2006 (LT United, We are the winners, 6th place in the Grand Final) and 2016 (Donny Montell, I’ve been waiting for this night, 9th place in the Grand Final).

The group Fusedmarc (Viktorija Ivanovskaja a.k.a. CIILIIA, Denisas Zujevas a.k.a. DJ VAKX and Stasys Žak) represented Lithuania at the 2017 Eurovision Song Contest in Kyiv, Ukraine.

With their entry Rain of revolution they unfortunately did not go through to the Grand Final, placing 17th out of 18 contestants in Semi-Final 2, receiving 42 points.