Eurovision 2018: RTP confirms 43 countries in Lisbon

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 3,896 views

RTP, the Portuguese national broadcaster is all set to host the forthcoming 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in the best way possible. The broadcaster is working very hard and round the clock in order to showcase 3 extraordinary shows next May, with a grand number of countries expected to partake in the competition.

RTP’s Ms. Carla Bugalho (Head of Delegation for Portugal at the ESC) has been appointed as the Deputy Executive Producer for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest. She has confirmed that a total of 43 countries will participate at the forthcoming Eurovision edition in Lisbon, thus equalling the record number  of participating countries in 2008 and 2011.

So far, 39 countries have officially confirmed their participation at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, whilst Russia, FYR Macedonia, Moldova and Armenia are yet to confirm officially. We are expecting an official confirmation from these 4 remaining countries in the coming days, as none of these countries have given any indication of withdrawing from the competition, thus bringing the number of participating countries to 43.

The deadline for broadcasters to apply for participation concluded on 15 September and the grace period for applicant countries to withdraw their application without facing a financial penalty concluded on 10 October.

Bosnia & Herzegovina, Monaco, Turkey, Andorra, Slovakia and Luxembourg will not be returning to the contest next year.

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) is expected to release the official list of participating countries in due course.

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held at the Altice Arena in Lisbon on 8, 10 and 12 May 2018.