The EBU’s statement regarding Kosovo’s debut in Eurovision 2018

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,644 views

As a follow up to RTK’s statement regarding Kosovo’s potential participation at the 2018 Eurovision, we bring you the EBU’s statement concerning this matter.

ESCToday decided to contact the EBU in order to shed more light on Kosovo’s possible participation at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest following RTK’s statement. The EBU told ESCToday:

We can confirm Kosovo will not take part in the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon as RTK does not meet the criteria to participate. The EBU have made RTK aware of this situation.

Thus the EBU has confirmed to ESCToday that Kosovo will not participate at next year’s Eurovision edition in Lisbon, thus putting an end to rumours and speculation regarding the country’s debut in the competition in 2018.

So far, a total of 34 countries have confirmed their participation at the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest.

Eurovision 2018

The 2018 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 8, 10 and 12 May in Lisbon, Portugal.

The deadline for broadcasters to officially apply for Eurovision 2018 concluded on 15 September. Hereafter, countries have a grace period to confirm their participation or withdraw their application without a penalty until 10 October.

The final list of the 2018 Eurovision participating countries is expected to be released by the EBU later during the year.