Armenia: Ten national finalists announced

by Marcus Klier 72 views

The ten contestants in the Armenian national final for the Eurovision Song Contest 2010 have been revealed along with their songs and the respective songwriters. One of them will become the fifth Armenian representative in the comeptition.

The following acts will compete in the national final (Composer/Lyricist in brackets):

  1. Another Story Ays dzmer (This winter)
    (A. Sargsyan)
  2. Eva Rivas Apricot stone
    (A. Martirosyan/K. Kavaleryan)
  3. Nick EgibyanCountdown
    (N. Egibyan)
  4. Emmy & MihranHey (Let me hear you say)
    (V. Ter-Yeghishyan/M. Kirakosyan)
  5. David Ashotyan Infected dreams
    (D. Ashotyan)
  6. Maria Kizirian Little Red Riding Hood
    (M. Kizirian)
  7. Razmik Amyan My love
    (V. Petrosyan/V. Zadoyan)
  8. Sonya Never
    (S. Qatuzyan/K. Grigoryan)
  9. Ani Arzumanyan The Mermaid song
    (A. Nersisyan)
  10. Meline Beglaryan We must believe
    (M. Beglaryan)

  • You can listen to all ten songs here.

Some familiar faces can be found in the line-up. Karen Kavaleryan, lyricist of Apricot stone, has already competed in the Eurovision Song Contest as a lyricist on various occasions: He co-wrote the lyrics for the Russian entries in 2002 (Northern girl, 10th place) and 2006 (Never let you go, 2nd place) and wrote the Belarusian lyrics in 2007 (Work your magic, 6th place), the Armenian lyrics in 2007 (Anytime you need, 8th place), the Georgian lyrics in 2008 (Peace will come, 11th place) and the Ukranian lyrics in 2008 as well (Shady lady, 2nd place). Mihran and Emmy were claimed to already have been chosen as Armenian representatives before the official call for songs was launched. The rumour turned out to be untrue, but now they can be found in the line-up of the national final instead. Emmyalso competed in the 2007 Armenian national final.

The Armenian national final will be held on 14th February. The winner will be chosen by a mix of televoting and a jury voting, each counting for 50%. The running order for the final will be determined during a draw on 11th February.

Armenia has been competing in the Eurovision Song Contest since 2006. In 2009, they were represented by Inga & Anush with the song Nor par (Jan jan), which finished tenth in the final making it the country's lowest placing entry to date.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!