OGAE Second Chance Contest 2009: Here are the results!

by Dominique Dufaut 3,607 views

Today, Andreas Nilsson, executive producer of the OGAE Second Chance Contest 2009, sent to all OGAE coordinators a letter, together with a pdf-file with the results of the contest, to explain the delay and to give the final results. The annual OGAE Second Chance contest chooses the best national final entry that did make it to the Eurovision Song Contest among those submitted by the regional OGAE clubs.

Andreas Nilsson wrote: " … since it's a new year next week, I won't let the results of this year's edition be public in 2010.So after much consideration, I myself together with our president, Jens Johansson, have come up with revealing the results by a PDF-file.I know, it's boring and it was definitely not our first option to reveal the results in text.But we have to. … I let the scoreboard programming and editing of videos in the hands of some professionals that did this last year and in 2006. But due to sickness, operations and other complicated things, the end production was lagging behind. … So I'm sorry for all this, and that you have to READ the results first, and wait for the result show to finish.I have no date WHEN the video will be finished … .When we do have a finished version of the voting show, this will be distributed online, youtube/Torrent etc. … ."

These are the results:

1 Denmark Hera Björk Someday 257
2 Sweden Alcazar Stay the night 229
3 Spain Mirela Nada es comparable a ti 208
4 Norway Alexander Stenerud Find my girl 137
5 Israel Noa & Mira Awad Will you dance with me 136
6 Slovenia Omar Naber I still carry on 118
7 Greece Sakis Rouvas Right on time 97
8 Estonia Laura Destiny 97
9 Finland Passionworks Surrender 66
10 Portugal Filipa Baptista O teu lugar (Pela vida adentro) 49
11 Netherlands De Toppers Angel of the night 47
12 Serbia Ana Nikolic Bili smo najlepsi 26
13 Croatia Ivo Gamulin Gianni Daj mi jedan razlog 23
14 Andorra Mar Capdevila Passio obsessiva 21
15 Moldova Alexa A flight to the light 15
16 Ireland Laura Jane Hunter Out of control 15
17 FYR Macedonia Vlatko Lozanoski Blisku do mene 8
18 Poland Renton I'm not sure 6
19 Lithuania Ruta Sciogolevaite Redemption 6
20 Slovakia Desmod & Lucia Nováková Posledná minúta 4

The Maltese entry Avalon was withdrawn from the competition.

The OGAE Second chance contest has been held since 1987 and retrospective editions of earlier years were held later. Denmark already won the contest in 1989 with Lecia Jønsson and Landet Camelot. This year's winning song:


ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!