Marie N member of Greek final jury

by Bjørn Erik Opheim 249 views

During a press conference launched by the Greek broadcaster ERT today, the ten finalists were presented to the public. More details were given concerning the national final which this year has changed its name into the less original Ena tragoudi gia tin Europi (A Song for Europe) and the voting procedure involving it. The biggest surprise was however that there have been a last-minute-change concerning the artist of one of the entries.

The female artist Dimitra Aggelou will replace Christos Giannopoulos and his band Alter Ego during the performance of the song Kapios erotas fotia, one of the entries in the Greek final of 2003, which has changed its name from Psifiste gia to elliniko tragoudi (Vote for the Greek Song) into Ena tragoudi gia tin Europi.

The voting sequence will go on for several days, starting already three days ahead of the actual final. This will however only affect the SMS voting. The televoting, which will last for half an hour, will join the SMS voting during the broadcast of the national final, and will together count for 60% of the final results. The last 40% will be given to a professional jury consisting of seven or eight personalities from the music scene, the obvious attention-attracting celebrity being Marie N, privately known as Marija Naumova, winner of the 2002 Eurovision Song Contest and one of the two hosts of the upcoming contest in Riga. George Katsaros has been appointed to head the jury.

The SMS voting will be kicked off during the first broadcast of the ten entries on Sunday evening – February 23. The ten songs will then be rebroadcast the next three days untill the final night on February 26. A clear signal of a huge interest from the Greek broadcaster this year, isn't it?

This year's Cypriot participant, Stelios Konstantas, has been invited to star the show, but it's still unknown whether or not he will accept the offer.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!