The Eurodanceweb Award 2008 kicks off!

by Benny Royston 38 views

For the eight consecutive year, the competition features dance artists from all over Europe and the Mediterranean Area. 40 Countries are competing this year, with huge names inthe International dance scene. Among them, the German dj and producer Alex C, who represents his country with Doktorspiele and the band Bloom06, an Italian dance project formed in 2006 by Maury Lobina and Gianfranco Randone, former members of the popular act Eiffel 65. Eurovision fans will recognise names such as Mihai Traistariu, Evridiki and Paul Oskar who are all in contention to win the 2008 award. are proud to be continue our relationship as media partner for the competition.

After topping the charts worldwide with Dragostea din tei Dan Balan, one of the members of the boyband O-Zone, enters this years' edition of the Eurodanceweb award. He recently launched his alter-ego called Crazy Loop, which is also the title of the song chosen as the 2008 Moldovan entry.

Regional languages debut this year in the Eurodanceweb line-up! For the very first time, a song in Schwizer dütsch (the dialect spoken in the German Switzerland) competes to the Eurodanceweb award: it's the latest production of Dj Antoine entitled "Stop!". Spain is represented for the very first time by a song performed in Galician, the language spoken in Galicia, the autonomous community located in northwestern Spain. The track is called "A festa no vai parar" and is produced by Dj Son1c.

Also this year, the final list of entries features many artists that have competed in the past editions of the Eurovision Song Contest.

The singer selected to represent Romania is one of the most promising talents of the Country's music scene: Mihai Traistariu with "Your Love Is High". Mihai shot at the international stardom in 2006 with "Tornerò", a song that competed in the 2006 ESC held in Athens achieving the final 4th place.

After participating in the Eurovision Song Contest for Cyprus in three occasions (1992, 1994 and 2007) Evridiki enters the Eurodanceweb Award with her latest single entitled "I zoi echei chroma" composed by Dimitris Korgialas, who was also the author of the music of "Comme ci comme ça" (ESC 2007).

Iceland is represented by one of the most controversial and provocative artists of the 1997 edition of the Eurovision Song Contest: Paul Oskar, who competes in the Eurodanceweb award with the remix of one of his latest productions entitled "Betra lif", whose videoclip has been shot and launched few days ago.

Israeli entrant, Knob, was a former backing singer at the Eurovision Song Contest for Lior Narkis and his Israeli entry. She enters the competition with Israeli hit record Only you. She also recently toured in Sweden, performing the song in several clubs and concerts.

ESC fans may also remember other artists in the line-up: None Nedelkovska (Skopje Fest 2008), the Belgian singer Danzel (Polish National Final 2006), the Polish pop star Gosia Andrzejewicz (Belarusian National Final 2006) and the Swedish vocalist Lisette Vares, who was one of the backing singer during Olivia Lewis' performance of "Vertigo" in Helsinki.

As it has become a tradition, readers of this website can vote for their favourite entry of the Online Poll until the end of December 2008, when the results of the Professional Jury will also be made public.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!