Eurolaul finalists list is out

by Victor Hondal 70 views

Estonian broadcaster ETV has announced the list of the 10 finalists that will compete in the Baltic country's selection process for Belgrade 2008. Five of them were selected by a jury, and the rest are invited composers. The jury had to choose five instead of four due to the resignation of an invited composer.

This is the list of participants that will compete in Eurolaul 2008:

  1. Ice-cold story – Iiris Vesik
  2. It's Never too late – Ines
  3. One on one – Rolf Junior
  4. Real big money – SKA Faktor
  5. Üksinduses – Kristjan Kasearu & Paradise Crew
  6. Leto svet – Kreisiraadio
  7. 365 Days – Birgit Õigemeel
  8. Question Man – Taavi Peterson
  9. Stefani – Supernova
  10. Winner of talent show Kaks takti ette

Ines has represented Estonia in the 2000 Eurovision Song Contest with the song Once in a lifetime and finished fourth. She has also taken part in the Estonian national finals in 2006 (2nd with Iseendale) and in 2007 (6th with In good an bad). The lead singer of SKA Faktor is Rebecca Kontus who was part of the group Suntribe that represented Estonia in the 2005 Eurovision Song Contest but didn't qualify for the final with Let's get loud.

A professional jury composedof Toomas Puna, Alari Kivisaar, Allan Roosileht, Andres Panksep, Ahto Kruusmann, Raul Saaremets, Olev Ehrlich, Ivan Makarov, Owe Petersell, Koit Raudsepp and Sven Lõhmus chose thefive first listed songs. The rest are songs from composers invited by ETV to take part in the Estonian national final.

Timo Steiner, one of those invited composers, decided not to participate in Eurolaul 2008. This is why the jury had to select 5 entries instead of 4, as it was previously announced.

The ten hopefuls will be presented on 26th January, one week before Eurolaul 2008 on 2nd February.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!