Bosnia & Herzegovina withdraw from JESC

by Stella Floras 514 views

Georgia's participation in this year's Junior Eurovision Song Contest can be considered as a lucky break for the new Eurovision enthusiast country as it was made possible by the withdrawal of Bosnia & Herzegovina.

Originally, there had been 19 applications for this year's JESC in Rotterdam with Georgia being the 19th. As the rules of this year's contest dictate that a maximum of 18 countries participate, Georgia was excluded. But a sudden withdrawal of Bosnia & Herzegovina made it possible for them to take part after all.

The final list of participants is as follows (in alphabetical order):

  • Armenia (ARMTV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Bulgaria (BNT)
  • Cyprus (CyBC)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Greece (ERT)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • Malta (MTPBS)
  • The Netherlands (AVRO)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (TV4)
  • Ukraine (NTU)

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!

Stella Floras

Thanks to Johnny Logan and Hold me now I fell in love with the Eurovision Song Contest, a love that's been going strong ever since with undiminished passion. My first memories date back to 1977 and the lyrics of Rock bottom, Dschinghis Khan and A ba ni bi are still engraved in my brain.

I joined in 2006 as a junior editor after being invited by Barry Viniker, I soon became Senior Editor and during the 2007 contest in Helsinki I was appointed Head of Communications. Today I hold the post of Head of Human Resources and I am proud to be working with the best editorial team in the world.