[UPD] Eurovision 2014: How many countries will compete in Copenhagen?

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 90 views

How many countries will compete at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest? The deadline for countries to submit their applications to the EBU in order to compete at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest is approaching. Countries wishing to participate have to apply by 22 November. The official list of participating countries will be released by the EBU at the beginning of January.

A total of 31 countries have confirmed their participation at the forthcoming 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in Denmark so far. Whilst 3 countries have said that they are most likely to compete in the event next year, an official confirmation is yet to come. Another 6 countries are yet to make a decision regarding their participation in 2014.

Cyprus and Croatia have decided to opt out of the competition in 2014 due to financial reasons. Portugal and Bosnia Herzegovina will be returning to the contest next year after a year’s absence.

The EBU has extended the deadline for Greece given the special situation the country is facing currently after ERT, the former Greek national broadcaster was shut down by the government last June. Currently an interim channel DT is operational until the new state broadcaster NERIT is launched.


Countries confirmed

[Albania]Albania[FYR Macedonia]FYR Macedonia[Portugal]Portugal
[Belarus]Belarus[Iceland]Iceland[San Marino]San Marino
[Bosnia Herzegovina]Bosnia & Herzegovina[Israel]Israel[Sweden]Sweden
[Estonia]Estonia[Latvia]Latvia[The Netherlands]The Netherlands
[France]France[Montenegro]Montenegro[United Kingdom]United Kingdom

Countries most likely to participate

[Slovenia]Slovenia[Moldova]Moldova [Greece]Greece

Countries yet to decide


Countries that will not participate

[Andorra]Andorra[Czech Republic]Czech Republic[Monaco]Monaco

A total of 51 countries have competed in the Eurovision Song Contest throughout its history. The Eurovision Song Contest was born in 1956 with 7 countries participating: Switzerland, The Netherlands, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg and Italy. 2008 saw a record number of 43 countries compete at the Eurovision Song Contest in Belgrade. In 2013 a total of 39 countries participated in the Eurovision Song Contest in Malmo, Sweden.

The 2014 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held at the B&W Hallerne in Copenhangen on May 6,8 and 10. Stay tuned to esctoday.com for more news on the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!