EBU confirms song languages

by Sietse Bakker 61 views

The European Broadcasting Union has confirmed the languages in which the 24 songs will be performed at this year's Eurovision Song Contest in Estonia.

Of the 24 songs, fifteen will be performed completely in English. FYR Macedonia, France, Switzerland, Turkey and Slovenia will sing completely in their own language. A combination of English and the native tongue will be used by Israel and Bosnia-Herzegovina with Spain allowing just a single phrase in English in an otherwise native tongue song. The Cypriotic boyband One will also sing a few phrases in Greek in a mainly English song.

It is unlikely that any changes will now be made to the languages which have been announced officially by the EBU recently. In recent years, however, Turkish participants have decided towards the contest to include a verse in English, so far TRT, the Turkish National Broadcaster has ruled this out for 2002.

Soon all the official editions of the songs will be available in our media section.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!