Austria celebrates: Merci jury!

by roel 50 views

Austria celebrated the 50th anniversary of the Eurovision Song Contest last night in Vienna where the television show Merci Jury was recorded. The show featuring Global.Kryner, former Austrian and international Eurovision Song Contest stars will be broadcast on Saturday 30th April.

Many guests attended Merci Jury
Last year's Eurovision Song Contest winner Ruslana, Mr Eurovision Johnny Logan, the first Eurovision Song Contest winner Lys Assia, this year's Austrian representatives Global.Kryner and many former Austrian participants including Thomas Forstner (1989, 1991), Petra Frey (1994), Bettina Soriat (1997) and Tie Break (2004), gathered last night in Vienna, where Austrian broadcaster ORF recorded a show to celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Ruslana wishes Global.Kryner good luck
Backstage, this year's Austrian representatives Global.Kryner sang their own unique alpine version of We are the champions, in duet with Ruslana. Back on stage for the apotheosis of the show, Ruslana danced along on the beats of Y así, the song to represent Austria at the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest semifinal. Ruslana wished Global.Kryner good luck in Kyiv.

The show Merci Jury, named after the words pronounced by Udo Jürgens after winning the Eurovision Song Contest in 1966 with the song Merci chérie, will be broadcast by ORF 1 on Saturday 30th April at 21:15 CET.

Winners of the Global.Kryner single

Two weeks ago we asked you to give us the name of the female lead singer of Global.Kryner. The correct answer was Sabine Stieger (pictured above together with Ruslana). The winners of the Global.Kryner single Y así are…

� Roland Quemeneur (France)
� Bart Van den Berge (Belgium)
� Leah Gertler (Israel)

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!