Rona Nishliu wins Barbara Dex Award

by Victor Hondal 1,782 views

The results of the 2012 Barbara Dex Award are out. Rona Nishliu, Albanian Eurovision representative in Baku, has won the majority of the votes (829), followed by Ireland’s Jedward and Bulgaria’s Sofi Marinova.


The Barbara Dex Award is the annual price for the worst dressed artist in the contest. The award is named after Barbara Dex, who represented Belgium in the 1993 contest.

This year’s Barbara Dex Award has seen a record-breaking number of votes. A total of 2,851 valid votes were cast. According to The House of Eurovision, organisers of the award, Rona Nishliu emerged as a clear favourite to lift the trophy from the beginning of the voting. Her blue and black dress and donut-shaped hairdo was the first choice for 829 voters.

Jedward twins ended up second for the second consecutive year. After gaining second place in 2011, they won that spot again this year with 551 votes. Third place was for the Bulgarian representative Sofi Marinova. She gained 232 votes from the voters.

Below you can see the top ten of this year’s edition of the Barbara Dex Award:

1. Albania – Rona Nishliu (829)
2. Ireland – Jedward (551)
3. Bulgaria – Sofi Marinova (232)
4. The Netherlands – Joan Franka (163)
5. Ukraine – Gaitana (145)
6. Denmark – Soluna Samay (82)
7. Turkey – Can Bonomo (76)
8. Sweden – Loreen (66)
9. Bosnia & Herzegovina – Maya Sar (62)
-. San Marino – Valentina Monetta (62)


Source: The House of Eurovision
Picture: eurovision.tv

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!