Estonian finalists announced

by Jarmo Siim 107 views

The Estonian broadcaster, ETV, has announced the 10 participants of the national preselection. There are many returners among composers as well as performers to Eurolaul 2005. Among them the lyricist of the winning song of 2001 – Maian Kärmas and the veteran composer of the contest Sven Lõhmus.

The finalists are as follows (ordered alphabetically):

Authors: Priit Pajusaar, Glen Pilvre, Aarne Lauri, demo performed by Aarne Lauri and Cardinals.

The team behind this song (except Aarne Lauri) has also created the song which represented Estonia last year (“Tii”), and in 1999 – Diamond of night. Priit Pajusaar was also the composer of the first successful Estonian entry – Kaelakee hääl reaching the 5th position at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1996.

Break the ties
Authors: Peeter Kaljuste, Elmar Liitmaa, Marta Piigli, Ketlin Hoe, demo performed by Glow.

Peeter Kaljuste is one of the most successful music producers in Estonia. Elmar Liitma participated in Eurolaul 2002 with the song “What if i fell”.

Authors: Raul Veeber, Asko-Romé Altsoo, demo performed by Glow.

The team behind this song took part in Eurolaul 2003 with a song Have it your way.

Dream in a dream
Authors: Ivar Männik, Mario Kivistik, demo performed by Airi Ojamets.

Airi Ojamets performed “Whatever you say” last year and the writers of the song were partly behind the audience favourite at Eurolaul 2002 with Another country song

Gotta go
Authors: Priit Pajusaar, Glen Pilvre, Maian Kärmas, demo by Eha Urbsalu.

Maian Kärmas has already won the Eurovision Song Contest in 2001 being the lyricist of Everybody.

Let's get loud
Author: Sven Lõhmus, demo performed by Suntribe.

Lõhmus has written several songs for the Estonian final, including Church of love (1999), Another country song (2002), Club Kung-Fu (2003) making him the Estonian preselection veteran.

Look in my eyes
Authors: Meelis Leis, Margus Lattik, demo performed by Sobe.

Author: Sven Lõhmus, demo performed by Laura.

This performer was chosen by a radio station via a talent show which we wrote about earlier this year.

Nevermore island
Authors: Sven Lõhmus, Mario Kivistik, Margus-Koit Kivistik, demo performed by Julia Boman.

Set me as a seal
Author and performer of the demo: Bard Eirik Hallesby Norheim.

This year out of the total 87 songs 22 were in Estonian, the rest in English. The jury which consisted of Jaak Joala, Priit Hõbemägi, Meelis Kapstas, Jaan Elgula, Allan Roosileht, Olavi Pihlamägi, Maarja-Liis Ilus, Hanna-Liina Võsa, Urmas Lattikas and Jaagup Kreem chose the finalists on December 9th.

The Estonian national final is to be held on February 5th. The winner will perform in the semifinal of the Eurovision Song Contest 2005 on May 19th.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!