Serbia & Montenegro and Cyprus win awards

by Gordon Roxburgh 164 views

At the after show party held within the open air of the grounds of the Fortress of Seven Towers, additional awards were given out to artists and composers. At a spectacular event which included a firework display, Richard Herrey, one of the infamous Herreys' brothers who won for Sweden in 1984 announced the awards.

The Marcel Bezencon awards, named after the man who created the Eurovision Song Contest, were presented firstly to Serbia & Montenegro for Lane moje, and to Zeljko Joksimovic. This was the Press Award which was determined collectively by the accredited members of the press, who were each entitled to give one vote each.

The next award was determined by the composers who participated in the 2004 contest. They were asked to vote for the song they felt was the best composition, with special consideration taken to originality and cultural identity, in music and lyrics. Mike Connaris, whose composition Stronger every minute, which represented Cyprus was the recipient of the Composers Award.

The final award is determined by a special jury, comprising former Eurovision Song Contest winners, and they were in agreement with the international public by making Ruslana and her Wild Dances the winner of this award for Best Artistic Performance, and giving her another trophy to take home to Ukraine.

Ruslana is due to give a second press conference as the winner of the 49th Eurovision Song Contest at 14:00 local time.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!