Tonight's voting procedure explained

by Sietse Bakker 177 views

Television viewers can vote for their favourite song by televoting, using SMS or phone votes. However, backup juries are in place in case of a technical failure. The voting producure explained!

Tonight, 33 countries will televote for the qualifier round. The three countries that do not broadcast the qualifier round, do not have the right to televote (Poland, France and Russia). In the countries that do vote, it's possible to vote 'only' 20 times with one telephone line, except for the countries where it's not possible to check the maximum amount of phone calls.

The names, but not the ranking, of the ten countries which will go on to compete in the final of the Eurovision Song Contest will be brought on stage in blank and sealed enveloppes. The enveloppes will be picked random and the ranking order of the ten selected countries will not be announced to keep Saturday's show exciting. The qualifier round's rank will be published Sunday. The first opened enveloppe will fill up the first empty spot on the final's running order list, and so on. This means there is no anouncement of the points given by every individual country by the spokespersons.

You can find the telephone and SMS numbers at your national broadcaster's website or teletext.

The individual scores of the countries that ended up 11th to 22nd will be announced after the show on and

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!