EBU confirms concept qualifier round and final

by Sietse Bakker 216 views

No televoting results at the night of the qualifier round and excitement until the final night. The Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group decided that last week during a meeting in Istanbul.

The viewers of the qualifier round on Wednesday (12th May) will decide by televoting which ten songs of the 22 countries participating will go on to the final on Saturday (15th May). They will have plenty of time to vote, because he televoting will stay open from the end of the qualifying show until 12:00 CET on the day of the final. After counting the votes the result of the tele vote will be announced within the final and create a greater suspense for artists, spectators and viewers and also more obvious integrates the two shows. The ten songs that receive the most votes will join the already qualified 14 countries in the final.

“Rumours said that the procedure of announcing the result of the tele voting in the participating countries dramatically would change. This is not the case. The announcing of the votes will be done in the same way as before, with a spokesperson live on link announcing all their points, beginning with 1 and ending by 12. In the final all participating 36 countries will vote, including the 12 countries that will be eliminated from the qualifying show”, Stockselius told esctoday.com. Due to the increased number of countries participating, the running time for the final of the Eurovision Song Contest will be extended to 3 hours and 10 minutes, from 21:00 to 00:10 CET.

The running time for the qualifying show is two hours with a live broadcast between 21.00 to 23.00 CET.

The draw for the running order of the songs in the two shows will be held in Istanbul on Monday, 22nd March in combination with the Head of Delegation seminar in Istanbul.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!