13 finalists for You're a Star known

by Edwin van Gorp 162 views

In Ireland, the qualifying heats for You're a Star have finished. Thirteen artists will participate in the finals, which end on 7th March and on which date the new Irish star to represent Ireland at the 2004 Eurovision Song Contest in Istanbul will be chosen.

Ten of the thirteen finalists were chosen through regional audition heats: Cladach, Gary Philbin, Ruth Cullen, James Kilbane, Colin Fahy, Philip Noone, Jean Elliott, Phil Coulter & Gill Blacque, George Murphy and Gary O'Malley. The jury gave wildcards to the remaining three; Laura Brophy (chosen by Linda Martin), Chris Doran (chosen by Louis Walsh) and Final Four (chosen by Phil Coulter).

The finals begin next Sunday, 18th January, and each week one artist will have to leave the competition.

Meanwhile, RTÉ are searching for a suitable Eurovision song for their national winner. Songwriters can still submit their works to RTÉ; the deadline is 19th January.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!