Ireland: Full Eurosong line-up revealed

by Alexandru Busa 70 views

The line-up of Ireland's national selection for the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 is said to be finalised as the Irish media reports. Former Eurosong contestant, Don Mescall, together with an unnamed EMI-signed quartet joined the competition that will determine the official representative of Ireland at this year's European favourite music show.

Ireland will select its Eurovision hopeful at a special edition of The Late Late Showwhich is due to take placeon February 11th. Five artists, mentored by five professionals of the Irish music industry, will fight for the honour of representing the nation with the biggest number of victories (7) at the Eurovision Song Contest 2011 to be held in Düsseldorf, Germany.

This is how the line-up of Eurosong 2011 is looking like:

  1. Nikki Kavanagh
  2. Jedward
  3. The Vard Sisters
  4. Don Mescall
  5. an unnamed EMI quartet

The five music professionals that will mentor this year's Irish Eurosong hopefuls are the following:

  • Caroline Downey-Desmond – Director of MCD and event producer
  • Ronan Hardiman – Composer (Lord of Dance)
  • David Hayes – Musical Director and arranger (Tommy Fleming and Riverdance)
  • Willie Kavanagh – Chairman, EMI Music Ireland
  • Liam Lawton – Composer and performer

Ireland holds the record of the most Eurovision wins (7). Last year they were represented by former winner Niamh Kavanagh who tried to become the first ever female soloist to win the most watched European music contest twice. Although she was a favourite to win, Niamh finished on the 23rd position of last year's final scoring a total number of 25 points.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!