Two Eurovision winners nominated for MTV EMAs

by Benny Royston 91 views

Two Eurovision Song Contest winners have been nominated for the MTV European Music Awards 2009. Helena Paparizou and Dima Bilan, who won the competition in 2005 and 2008 respectively are both nominated in their local categories. Former Turkish entrant Kenan Do�ulu is also nominated as is this year's Swiss representatives, Lovebugs.

2008 Eurovision Song Contest winner Dima Bilan will compete for Russian artist of the year for the second year running, reigniting his battle with Sergey Lazarev, who he beat at the 2008 Russian national final with his song Believe. Dima also took second place at the 2006 Eurovision Song Contest in Athens.

Athens hosted the competition following Helena Paparizou's 2005 victory in Kiev with the song My number one. It was also her second attempt at after she placed 3rd in 2001 with Antique capturing victory and the song Die for you in Copenhagen. Helena is nominated for the award of Best Greek Act.

This year's Swiss Eurovision Song Contest representatives, Lovebugs are nominated in the Best Swiss Act category. The band were strongly fancied before the 2009 competition but failed to reach the final. Turkish 2007 Eurovision Song Contest representative Kenan Do�ulu is nominated in the Best Turkish Act category.

The MTV European Music awards show will take place at the o2 World Arena in Berlin, Germany on Thursday 5th November.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!