Eurovision 2009: First juries revealed

by Gavin Murray 94 views

After 12 years of absence, national juries make a return this year and will have an impact on the result of the Eurovision Song Contest grand final. For the first time, the juries will be 'professional' comprising music industry experts rather than members of the public. Their votes will represent half of each national vote on Saturday night.

National juries comprise of 50% of the vote, while televoting will make up the other 50% of each country's points.

Ireland, France and the UK have revealed their full juries so far. They are:


  • Linda Martin (Eurovision Song Contest 1992 winner)
  • Paul Harrington (Eurovision Song Contest 1994 winner)
  • Bill Hughes (Tv producer)
  • Emma O'Driscoll (Popstar turned tv presenter)
  • Luan Parle (singer/songwriter)


  • Corrine Hermès (Eurovision Song Contest 1983 winner)

  • Jean Paul Cara (composer of the last french winner entry "L'oiseau et l'enfant" Eurovision 1977)

  • Lionel Rivera (French producer)

  • Marianne Jaulin (TV producer)

  • Marie Jo Zarb (French composer)

United Kingdom

  • Deborah Chapman

  • Paul Edwards

  • David Larkin

  • Anne Mannion

  • Chris Stewart

More juries to be revealed soon…

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!