Welcome to the Eurovision Song Contest 2009

by Benny Royston 68 views

Today, Sunday 3rd May 2009, the rehearsals for the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest begin in earnest in Moscow, Russia. Over the next 13 days, a total of 84 technical rehearsals, 84 participant press conferences, nine dress rehearsals and three live shows will take place from the Olympiyski Indoor Arena in the heart of the capital city of the 2008 Eurovision song Contest winning nation.

Today sees the first half of the first semi final participants rehearsing at the Olympiyski Indoor Arena. Tomorrow, the second half of the performers will hold their first rehearsals and press conferences.

Today's rehearsal schedule is as follows. Each rehearsal will last for 40 minutes (times are shown in Central European Time, Moscow time is two hours later):

07.30 CET Montenegro
08.10 CET Czech Republic
08.50 CET Belgium
09.30 CET Belarus
10.10 CET Lunch break of one hour
11.10 CET Sweden
11.50 CET Armenia
12.30 CET Andorra
13.10 CET Break of 20 minutes
13.30 CET Switzerland
14.10 CET Turkey

Following the rehearsals, each delegation will host their press conference, lasting 30 minutes, at the following times.

08.45 CET Montenegro
09.25 CET Czech Republic
10.05 CET Belgium
10.45 CET Belarus
11.25 CET Sweden
12.05 CET Armenia
12.45 CET Andorra
13:45 CET Switzerland
14:25 CET Turkey

Today, the first esctoday.com team members to arrive in Moscow were able to see the stage working. You can see the video here:


Stay tuned to esctoday.com for full coverage of rehearsals, press conferences, interviews and much much more over the coming days.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!