Estonia: 110 songs submitted for Eesti laul

by Marcus Klier 79 views

Today was the submission deadline for the 2009 Estonian national final for the Eurovision Song Contest, Eesti laul. According to braodcaster ETV, a total of 110 songs was submitted.

Executive producer Heidy Purga stated that songs in very different styles were submitted, which was "also one of their obejcts". A professional jury will now select ten songs to take part in the national final on 7th March. The jury members have not been revealed so far but will include "managers of radio stations, composers and people known from the media". The full line-up will be revealed on Thursday during the TV program Paar.

Estonia is one of only two countries that have failed to qualify from the semi finals every year since 2004. In Belgrade, the country was represented by Kreisiraadio, who finished 18th in the first semi final with Leto svet.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!