Watch now: Unser Song für Österreich in Germany

by Jessica Weaver 473 views

Tonight, the German national broadcaster ARD will broadcast Unser Song für Österreich (USfÖ), the national final which will decide Germany’s representative for the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest.

How to watch


The show will air at 20:15 CET and can be viewed via the following channels:


The show

Hosted by Barbara Schöneberger, the 2015 German national final USfÖ will take place live from the TUI Arena in Hannover.

Following the same process as last year’s German national final, this year’s selection process will consist of three rounds.

During round 1, the 8 finalists will perform their selected first entry to the public who will then go on to vote for their favourite artist and song entry from that round. The 4 artists who receive the most amount of votes will qualify through to round two of USfÖ.

Round 2 sees the 4 qualifiers perform their second entry to the voting public. The televote will then decide which 2 acts should qualify to the final round of the show.

A final public televote will once again take place in order to decide which of the 2 finalists should go on to represent Germany at the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest in the host city of Vienna.

The participants

The 8 finalists have been listed below with both of their song entries. The first entry listed is the song which will be performed in round 1 of USfÖ.

  • Alexa FeserGlück / Das gold von morgen
  • Andreas KümmertHome is in my hands / Heart of stone
  • Ann SophieJump the gun / Black smoke
  • FahrenhaidtFrozen silence / Mother Earth
  • FaunHörst du die trommeln / Abschied
  • LaingZeig deine muskeln / Wechselt die beleuchtung
  • Mrs. GreenbirdShine shine shine / Take my hand
  • Noize GenerationA song for you / Crazy now

You can read more about this year’s national final participants in our Meet the German hopefuls article here.


Guest performers

This year’s guest performers include German singer Mark Forster, Swiss singer Stephanie Heinzmann and the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest winner Conchita Wurst.

The story so far

Germany debuted in the first ever edition of the Eurovision Song Contest in 1956 with their two entrants; Walter Andreas Schwarz with Im wartesaal zum grossen glück and Freddy Quinn with So geht das jede nacht. Germany has only ever missed one edition of the contest, making them the country with the most Eurovision appearances.

Germany has won the Eurovision Song Contest twice; in 1982 with Nicole and her entry Ein bisschen frieden and more recently in 2010 when Lena was selected to represent her country with her entry Satellite.

Last year, Elaiza was selected via the national final Unser Song für Dänemark to represent their country at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest in the host city of Copenhagen. With their entry Is it right, Elaiza ended in 18th position at the Grand Final receiving a total of 39 points.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on Germany, Unser Song für Österreich and the 2015 Eurovision Song Contest!