Eurovision 2014: 37 countries will compete in Copenhagen

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 305 views

A total of 37 countries will compete at the forthcoming Eurovision Song Contest in Copenhagen.

Slovenia was the last country to confirm its participation at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest today after a special 10 day extension  granted by the EBU. Hence 31 countries will battle for a place in the grand final during the 2 semi-finals on 6 and 8 May. The BIG 5 countries and the host country are automatically qualified to compete in the grand final. A total of 26 countries (The BIG 5+ Denmark+ 20 qualifiers from the semi-finals) will battle for the grand prix at the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest Final on 10 May.

The 37 participating countries.

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Austria (ORF)
  • Azerbaijan (Ictimai TV)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • Belgium (VRT)
  • Denmark (DR)
  • Estonia (ERR)
  • Finland (YLE)
  •  France (France 3)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Germany (NDR)
  • Greece (NERIT)
  • Hungary (MTV)
  • Iceland (RÚV)
  • Ireland (RTÉ)
  • Israel (IBA)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Latvia (LTV)
  • Lithuania (LRT)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Moldova (TRM)
  • Montenegro (RTCG)
  • The Netherlands (AvroTros)
  • Norway (NRK)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Romania (TVR)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • San Marino (SRMTV)
  • Slovenia (RTVSLO)
  • Spain (TVE)
  • Sweden (SVT)
  • Switzerland (SRG SSR)
  • United Kingdom (BBC)
  • Ukraine (NTU).

Bosnia Herzegovina initially applied to compete in the contest but withdrew its application. Portugal and Poland will return to the contest this year, whilst Greece will indeed participate in Copenhagen with its new broadcaster NERIT.

Morocco, Monaco, Slovakia, The Czech Republic, Andorra, Luxembourg and Turkey confirmed to that they have no intention on returning to the event in 2014.

The BIG 5 countries: France, United Kingdom, Germany, Spain and Italy will compete in the grand final on 10 May along with Denmark, this year’s host country. A total of 31 countries will compete in the 2 semi-finals, 15 in one and 16 in the other.The 2014 Eurovision Song Contestwill be held on 6,8 and 10 May at the B&W Hallerne in Copenhagen.
Stay tuned to for the latest news on the 2014 Eurovision Song Contest