EBU: Four new members join the Reference Group

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,521 views

Four new members have joined the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group thus replacing four former members who have stepped down.

Felix Bergsson (RUV), Sietse Bakker (NPO), Alexandra Redde (France Televisions) and Simona Martorelli (RAI) have joined the Reference Group and will thus replace: Reto Peritz (SRF), Rachel Ashdown (BBC). Aleksandar Radic (RTVSLO) and Ayala Mizrahi (KAN).

The Refence Group

The Reference Group was formed by the European Broadcasting Union’s Television Committee in 1998. The Group meets up 5-6 times a year.

The main tasks of the body include approving format developments and changes to the rules, securing financing, modernizing the brand and raising awareness of the Eurovision Song Contest and overseeing the yearly preparation by the Host Broadcaster.

The Reference Group is composed of a Chairman, three members elected by the Heads of Delegation, two Executive Producers from previous host countries, as well as the Executive Producer of the current Host Broadcaster. The EBU’s Eurovision Song Contest Executive Supervisor is also a member of the Reference Group.

The Reference Group has a possibility to invite up to 2 extra professionals to join the group.

The Reference Group currently consists of the following members:

  • Dr. Frank-Dieter Freiling- (ZDF/Germany)(Chairman)
  • Mr. Martin Osterdahl- (EBU Representative)
  • Mr. David Tserunyan- (AMPTV/Armenia)- Elected Member
  • Ms. Carla Bugalho –(RTP/Portugal) (Eurovision 2018 Executive Producer)
  • Mr. Felix Bergsson (RUV/Iceland) Elected Member
  • Sietse Bakker- (NPO/ Netherlands)(Eurovision 2021 Executive Producer Event)
  • Simona Martorelli -(RAI/Italy)
  • Alexandra Redde (-France Televisions/ France) Elected Member
  • Mr. Yuval Cohen- (Israel) (Creative Director Eurovision 2019)
  • Ms. Astrid Dutrenit- (NPO/Netherlands)(Eurovision 2021 Executive Producer TV)

The current Reference Group includes the Heads of Delegation from Italy, Armenia, France, Iceland and Portugal.

The Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group is the executive Committee for all Members, its purpose being to control and guide the Eurovision Song Contest and meets four to five times each year on behalf of all Participating Broadcasters, and is required to take decisions in the general interest of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Source: EBU

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!