Estonia: Familiar names and newcomers among Eesti Laul 2019 participants

by Roy Knoops 1,988 views

Estonian broadcaster ERR has revealed the 24 participants of Eesti Laul 2019.

From 216 submissions to 24 lucky contestants: the expert jury has evaluated all potential Eesti Laul 2019 entries and subsequently selected the definite participants of Estonia’s popular Eurovision selection! The Eurovision hopefuls were revealed in the TV-show Ringvaade.

Expert insight

The expert jury included former Eurovision and Eesti Laul participants Laura Põldvere (Eurovision 2005 as part of Suntribe, Eurovision 2017 alongside Koit Toome), Lenna Kuurmaa and Rolf Roosalu, besides other music industry professionals.

Although the songs themselves will be officially released on 1 December 2018 on channel ETV, the names of the composers, lyricists and interpreting artists were presented. Among the 24 candidates are some familiar names and many promising newcomers.

Eurovision veterans

Eurovision veterans in Eesti Laul 2019 are Sandra Nurmsalu, who as lead vocalist of Urban Symphony placed 6th at Eurovision 2009 with Rändajad.

Also participating is duo The Swingers, which is actually a collaboration between Birgit Õigemeel (Eurovision 2013) and Tanja (Mihhailova, Eurovision 2014), so both are familiar with the requirements of the Eurovision stage.

Winner’s daughter

And perhaps most surprising: singer Sissi is the daughter of Aruban singer Dave Benton, who secured Estonia’s first (and to date only) Eurovision victory alongside Tanel Padar and group 2XL at Eurovision 2001! She will sing the song Strong: could Sissi be strong enough to follow in, perhaps even surpass, her father’s footsteps? We’ll have to wait until the semi-finals of Eesti Laul 2019 kick off.

Stig Rästa, who secured a respectful 7th place at Eurovision 2015 alongside Elina Born with Goodbye to yesterday, also returns – as songwriter, that is. He is part of the team that is responsible for Storm, which will be sung by Victor Crone who is experienced in Eurovision selections as he participated together with Behrang Miri in Sweden’s Melodifestivalen 2015, incidentally with a song co-written by Melodifestivalen 2015 ánd ultimately Eurovision 2015 winner Måns Zelmerlöw.

Eesti Laul veterans include Grete Paia, Kristel Aaslaid (now as part of the group Öed) and singer Stefan.

No doubt all 24 participants will bring their vocal strengths to the stage. Here’s the full list of Eesti Laul 2019 contestants:

01. KadiahBelieve (Music and lyrics: Kadi Poll)
02. Kerli KivilaanCold love (Music and lyrics: Kerli Kivilaan, Egert Milder, Andres Kõpper)
03. IngerComing home (Music and lyrics: Inger Fridolin, Karl-Ander Reismann)
04. Sofia Rubina-HunterDeep water (Music: Sofia Rubina-Hunter, Jaanika Tenn, lyrics: Oljana Kallson)
05. Around The SunFollow me back (Music: Daniel Rukovitškin, lyrics: Georg Eessaar)
06. Lacy JayHalleluja (Music: Ago Teppand, Lacy Nicole Jones, Hugo Martin Maasikas, lyrics: Ago Teppand, Lacy Nicole Jones)
07. The SwingersHigh heels in the neighbourhood (Music: Tanja Mihhailova, Timo Vendt, Mihkel Mattisen, lyrics: Tanja Mihhailova, Mihkel Mattisen)
08. xtra basic & Emily JHold me close (Music and lyrics: Andrei Zevakin, Igor Volhonski)
09. Synne ValtriI’ll do it my way (Music and lyrics Sünne Valtri)
10. IseloomadKaks miinust (Music: Vilho Meier, lyrics: Siim Randveer)
11. Grete PaiaKui isegi kaotan (Music: Grete Paia, Mihkel Mattisen, Timo Vendt, lyrics: Grete Paia, Mihkel Mattisen, Kerli Puusepp)
12. Jennifer CohenLittle baby El (Music: Chris Hierro, Jennifer Marisse Cohen, Luisa Lõhmus, lyrics: Jennifer Marisse Cohen, Luisa Lõhmus)
13. Johanna EendraMiks sa teed nii? (Music: Johanna Eendra, lyrics: Johanna Eendra, Joosep Eendra)
14. Lumevärv ft. INGAMilline päev (Music: Margus Piik, Kermo Hert, lyrics: Jana Hallas)
15. Cätlin Mägi & Jaan PehkParmumäng (Music: Cätlin Mägi, lyrics: Jaan Pehk)
16. Uku SuvistePretty little liar (Music and lyrics: Uku Suviste, Oliver Mazurtshak)
17. Marko KaarSmile (Music: Marko Kaar, Egert Kanep, lyrics: Marko Kaar)
18. Sandra NurmsaluSoovide puu (Music: Priit Pajusaar, Sandra Nurmsalu, lyrics: Aapo Ilves)
19. Victor CroneStorm (Music: Stig Rästa, Vallo Kikas, Victor Crone, lyrics: Stig Rästa, Victor Crone, Fred Krieger)
20. SissiStrong (Music: Karl-Ander Reismann, Sissi Nylia Benita, lyrics: Sissi Nylia Benita)
21. RaneleSupernova (Music: Marek Rosenberg, Lauri Lembinen, Marco Margna, lyrics: Anne Loho)
22. StefanWithout you (Music: Stefan Airapetjan, Karl-Ander Reismann, lyrics: Stefan Airapetjan)
23. Kaia TammWo sind die Katzen? (Music and lyrics: Kaia Tamm)
24. ÖedÖhuloss (Music and lyrics: Tuuli Rand, Kristel Aaslaid, Bert Prikenfeld, Egert Milder)


Eesti Laul 2019 dates

The semi-finals of Eesti Laul 2019 will take place in the new sports hall of the University of Tartu.

Semi-final 1 is set for 31 January 2019.

Semi-final 2 will be held on 2 February 2019.

Eesti Laul 2019’s Grand Final takes place on 16 February 2019, again in venue Saku Suurhall in Estonia’s capital Tallinn.

Estonia at Eurovision 2018

At the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest in Lisbon, Portugal, Estonia was represented by soprano Elina Nechayeva (Tallinn, 1991) and her epic pop-opera song La forza (“The force”), an ode to the universal power of love. Delivering a spellbinding visual and vocal performance, Elina and La forza reached a respectable 8th place in the Grand Final, earning 245 points.