Albania: RTSH reveals 22 participants for Festivali i Këngës 56

by Jessica Weaver 1,628 views

As we get closer and closer to finding out our first potential entry for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, the country set to select their entry next month, Albania, has unveiled their 22 bidding participants for the competition.

Confirming their participation in the upcoming Eurovision Song Contest earlier this year, the Albanian national broadcaster, RTSH, opened submissions for the country’s forthcoming selection last month.

Whilst 70 entries were submitted for the competition, only 22 have been shortlisted to compete in the Albanian national selection for Eurovision 2018, Festivali i Këngës 56 (FiK 56).

The 22 FiK 56 participants

The Albanian semi-finalists were shortlisted by a 5-member jury panel, consisting of members Markelian Kapidani, Luan Zhegu, Ben Andoni, Sokol Marsi and Edmond Rapi.

  • Artemisa Mithi
  • Bojken Lako
  • David & Genc Tukiqi
  • Denisa Gjezo
  • Elton Deda
  • Ergi Bregu-Latifllari
  • Eugent Bushpepa
  • Evans Rama
  • Grupi AkullthyesIit
  • Grupi Na & Festina Mezini
  • Grupi Lynx
  • Inest Neziri
  • Lorela
  • Manjola Nallbani
  • Mariza Ikonomi
  • Orgesa Zaimi
  • Redon Makashi
  • Rezarta Samja & Luis Ejlli
  • Stefi & Endri Prifti
  • Tahir Gjoci
  • Voltan Prodani
  • Xhesika Polo

The 22 participants will be split into 2 semi-finals, with 11 artists in each semi-final competing for a place in the final of the 23 December.

The winner of FiK 56 together with the winning entry could become the first official song entry for the 2018 Eurovision Song Contest, as has become tradition with Albania over recent years.

FiK 56 dates

  • 21/12: Semi-final 1
  • 22/12: Semi-final 2
  • 23/12: Grand final