EBU: New TV Committee elected

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 1,132 views

The EBU has elected a brand new TV Committee with some familiar faces, including several Heads of Delegation.

Last June, the Slovak national broadcaster RTVS hosted the 23rd EBU TV Assembly in Bratislava where a new set of TV Committee members were appointed.

SVT’s Head of Content Strategy Markus Sterky has been elected as the TV Committee’s President along with 4 vice-presidents: SSR SRG’s Chantal Bernheim, RAI’s Nicola Caligiore, ZDF’s Frank-Dieter Freiling and CT’s Milan Fridrich.

The following members have been appointed to join the TV Committee for a 2 year term: Mohammed Abdenhour (SNRT Morocco), Ana Maria Bordas (RTVE Spain), Alexandre Dureux (FTV France), Natalija Gorscak (RTVSLO Slovenia), Dermot Horan (RTE Ireland), Petri Jauhiainen (YLE Finland), Frans Klein (NPO Netherlands), Ekaterina Orlova (RTR Russia) and Doug Whitelaw (BBC UK). Marek Solon-Lipinski (TVP Poland) will attend the Committee as an observer.

Familiar faces

Frank-Dieter Freiling (ZDF) from Germany is also the the chairperson of the Eurovision Song Contest Reference Group, whilst Nicola Cagliore (RAI) is well known amongst the Eurovision community as he is Head of Delegation for Italy at the Eurovision Song Contest and also a member of the ESC Reference Group.

Ana Maria Bordas (TVE) is the new Spanish Head of Delegation having substituted Federico Llano (TVE). Ekaterina Orlova (RTR) is the Russsian Head of Delegation at the Eurovision Song Contest.

About the EBU’s TV Committee

The EBU’s TV Committee oversees the operations of the EBU’s TV services and assists in steering the operational and strategic direction. The Chairman and President are nominated by the TV Committee.

The TV Committee monitors the progress of events like the Eurovision Song Contest, approves the strategy of the television services and controls the television development fund. Moreover they help establish standards and procedures. The committee meets 4 times throughout the year, with remaining business conducted electronically. Since 2013 the TV Committee also has held joint meetings with the Radio Committee.