Watch now: Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017 in Denmark

by Gil Laufer 3,518 views

Denmark’s efforts to get to the final for the first time since hosting the Eurovision Song Contest in 2014 will all sum up tonight as the Danish representative will be chosen on the annual Dansk Melodi Grand Prix.

The Danish broadcaster DR has received a record number of 1115 entries. These were shortlisted to 41, and then to the final ten participants of tonight.

The show

Herning was chosen to be this year’s DMGP host city, and so, the show will be held at the local Jyske Bank Arena. Annette Heick (DMGP 2007) & Johannes Nymark (Lighthouse X, Denmark 2016) will host the show. Ten hopefuls will perform their chosen entries but only three will go to the superfinal, where the winner will be decided.

The viewers at home will be responsible for 50% of the votes in both rounds by SMS and app-voting, while a jury of five dedicated Danish Eurovision fans will take care of the other half.

Tonight’s participants

  1. Ida Una – One
  2. Thomas Ring – Vesterbro
  3. Rikke Skytte – Color my world
  4. Anja – Where I am
  5. Calling Mercury – Big little lies
  6. Anthony – Smoke in my eyes
  7. René Machon – Warriors
  8. Sada Vidoo – Northern lights
  9. Jeanette Bonde – Hurricane
  10. Johanna Beijbom – A.S.A.P.

How to watch?

Dansk Melodi Grand Prix 2017 will air from 20:00 CET on the following channels:


We are on location in Herning and so, join our Facebook page at 18:00 CET for special coverage as a part of our National Previews, featuring sneak peeks of the performances, reactions from the artists themselves and our press poll which will try to predict who will represent Denmark in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017. The program will be able for watching on demand on our page, right after the broadcast.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!