Finland: Emma wins the pre-televoting of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2017

by Gil Laufer 984 views

Finland will choose its entry for the Eurovision Song Contest 2017 on Saturday and so far it seems that it’s going to be Emma with Circle of light who will go to Kyiv in May, but it will take her a little more in order to win Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2017.

This is the running order for Saturday’s show as revealed by the Finnish broadcaster Yle:

  1. EmmaCircle of light
  2. AlvaArrows
  3. Günther & D’SanzLove yourself
  4. Anni SaikkuReach out for the sun
  5. Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La RubiesCaveman
  6. Norma JohnBlackbird
  7. Lauri YrjöläHelppo elämä
  8. Club La PerséMy little world
  9. ZühlkePerfect villain
  10. My First BandParadise

But Emma is not only the first song by running order, but also the winner according to the pre-televoting round. The pre-televoting is a phase where the Finnish people can vote for their favourite entry prior to the show. This phase ended earlier today and the results were revealed during a special UMK Pre-Party program on Yle. The results are as follows:

  1. EmmaCircle of light 30.4%
  2. My First BandParadise 15.0%
  3. ZühlkePerfect villain 12.5%
  4. Günther & D’SanzLove yourself 8.4%
  5. Norma JohnBlackbird 8.3%
  6. Club La PerséMy little world 6.9%
  7. AlvaArrows 5.9%
  8. Knucklebone Oscar & The Shangri-La RubiesCaveman 4.7%
  9. Lauri YrjöläHelppo elämä 4.1%
  10. Anni SaikkuReach out for the sun 3.8%

The actual numbers of this phase are unknown, but the viewers will be able to vote again by calling, sending a text message or online as UMK 2017 begins on Saturday night. The total outcome of the televoting will make 50% of the total votes, as the other half will come from a team of ten international juries, from Spain, Iceland, United Kingdom, Israel, Latvia, Norway, FranceSweden, Ukraine and Estonia.

Finland’s representative in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest will try to get the country to the final for the first time since 2014.