The 2008 Bezençon Awards winners

by Stella Floras 2,573 views

During the Eurovision 2008 afterparty at this year's Euroclub, the traditional Marcel Bezençon Awards for Best Composition, the Artistic Award as well as the Press and the Fan Awards were presented to four of this year's participating countries.

The Marcel Bezençon Awards, named after the EBU director who in 1955 conceived the idea of the Eurovision Song Contest, have been given out since 2002 in three categories with one more being added this year. The Composer's Award winner this year was Andrei Tudor for his composition Pe o margine de lume, performed by Nico and Vlad Mirita for Romania. The winner of this award is voted for by all the composers participating in the final of contest.

Former Eurovision Song Contest winners vote for the Artistic Award which this year went to Ani Lorak from Ukraine. The Press Award, which is given to the most popular song among the accredited members of the press each year was awarded to the Portuguese entry Senhora do mar. Paolo Coehlo's song, performed by Vania Fernandes, was one of the favourites of the fans and press members throughout both Eurovision weeks.

And last but not least a newly introduced award was presented this year, the Fan Award by Swedish website Readers of the site had the opportunity to vote online for their favourite 2008 artist under the age of 25 which was non other but Armenia's Qele, qele performed by Sirusho.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!

Stella Floras

Thanks to Johnny Logan and Hold me now I fell in love with the Eurovision Song Contest, a love that's been going strong ever since with undiminished passion. My first memories date back to 1977 and the lyrics of Rock bottom, Dschinghis Khan and A ba ni bi are still engraved in my brain.

I joined in 2006 as a junior editor after being invited by Barry Viniker, I soon became Senior Editor and during the 2007 contest in Helsinki I was appointed Head of Communications. Today I hold the post of Head of Human Resources and I am proud to be working with the best editorial team in the world.