The Netherlands: Avrotros confirms participation in ESC 2016!

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 2,943 views

The Dutch broadcaster Avrotros has confirmed to ESCToday that The Netherlands will participate at the forthcoming 2016 Eurovision Song Contest next year.

The Netherlands is the 11th country to confirm its participation at the 61st Eurovision Song Contest thus joining Belgium, Germany, Norway, Denmark, Finland, Sweden, France, Estonia, Latvia and Ireland all whom have confirmed their presence in the upcoming contest.

The Dutch went internal for Eurovision 2015 and selected Trijntje Oosterhuis to fly the Dutch flag in Vienna with her song Walk Along. Despite a great performance she failed to qualify to the grand final in Vienna.

Avrotros is yet to determine the fomat and mechanism it will use to select its 2016 Eurovision entry and act for Sweden. In the past 3 years the country has gone internal, a mechanism which has proved to be successful for the Dutch nation. Avrotros will be revealing more details and information on the 2016 Dutch Eurovision project in the coming months.

The Netherlands debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1956 and is one of the founder members of our favourite television show. The country has won the event 4 times (1957, 1959, 1969 and 1975). The Netherlands has hosted the contest 4 times:in 1958 (Hilversum), 1970 (Amsterdam), 1976 and 1980 (The Hague).

The preliminary dates for the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest have been set on 10, 12 and 14 May.

Stay tuned to for the latest news on The Netherlands and the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest!