Flying the flag for charity – win flag signed by all UK winners

by Juha Repo 435 views

Now all Eurovision Song Contest fans have a chance to win a very unique piece of Eurovision history and at the same time give to a very important charity, Leukaemia & Lymphoma Research.

The flag is designed by Ben Morris, known to many fans for his minipop icons depicting Eurovision Song Contest artists.

It features minipop icons of all the five United Kingdom Eurovision Song Contest winners so far, Sandie Shaw (1967), Lulu (1969) Brotherhood of Man – Martin Lee, Lee Sheriden, Nicky & Sandra Stevens (1976), Bucks Fizz – Bobby G, Cheryl Baker, Mike Nolan, Jay Aston (1981), Katrina & The Waves – Katrina Leskanich, Alex Cooper, Vince de la Cruz, Kimberley Rew (1997), and fully signed by them all.

Also the Eurovision Song Contest commentators for British Broadcasting Corporation BBC, Sir Terry Wogan and Graham Norton have added their signatures to the flag.


The idea comes from Dale Roberts, the husband of Karen Roberts, both avid fans of the Eurovision Song Contest.

Karen has been treated for leukaemia for a few years now, and is currently responding well. She will even be able to attend the event in Malmö herself thanks to the dedicated work done by charities like Leukaemia & Lymphoma Research.

Read Karen’s story on the flyer

To enter the raffle costs £5 at JustGiving.com, where the organisers have set a £5000 collection target.

The winner will be drawn live on radio W12P Live on 30 May.

Flying the flag Facebook page

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at vacancies@esctoday.com!