Estonia: Results of First Eesti Laul Semi-Final

by Fiona Galliford 216 views

Who will succeed Elina and Stig as Estonia’s Eurovision Song Contest representatives, and fly the flag for the Baltic country in Stockholm?

The first Eesti Laul semi-final has concluded, with the first five finalists listed below, in the order in which they were announced:

  • Mick Pedaja – Seis
  • Laura – Supersonic
  • Kati Laev & Noorkuu – Kaugel sinust
  •  Cartoon feat. Kristel Aaslaid – Immortality
  •  Kéa – Lonely boy

The Jingles, Würffel, Indrek Ventmann, Zebra Island and Windy Beach were eliminated from Eesti Laul 2016.

The qualifiers were determined using a 50/50 combination of professional Jury and public televote.

An ERR (Eesti Rahvusringhääling) production, the show was presented by husband and wife duo Henry and Maris Kõrvits. The performances were prerecorded at the ERR studios and the rest of the show was broadcast live. Audience participation was encouraged via social media (Twitter hashtag #EestiLaul2016 ) and selected tweets were shown on screen.

Go Away Bird, Jüri Pootsmann, Meisterjaan, I Wear* Experiment, Púr Múdd, Grete Paia, Põhja-Tallinn & Jaagup Kreem, Anett Kulbin, Gertu Pabbo and La La Ladies will battle to secure the remaining five Grand Final places in the second semi-final of Eesti Laul 2016 on Saturday 20th February. The Grand Final of Eesti Laul 2016 will take place on Saturday 5th March 2016 at Saku Suurhall in Tallinn, the venue which hosted the Eurovision Song Contest of 2002.

The 2016 Eurovision Song Contest will be held at the Globen Arena in Stockholm, Sweden on 10th, 12th and 14th May. Estonia has been drawn to perform in the second half of the first semi-final on Tuesday 10th May.

What do you think of tonight’s qualifiers? Who are your favourites? Stay tuned to for all the latest news on Eesti Laul and the Eurovision Song Contest!

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!