Russia: Kirkorov, Kontopoulos and Fokas behind Sergey’s entry

by Sanjay (Sergio) Jiandani 349 views

Russian national broadcaster RTR’s news portal has confirmed that Sergey Lazarev’s Eurovision entry will be backed up by the Russian/ Greeek Eurovision Dream Team.

Sergey’s Eurovision entry will be produced and composed by the Eurovision Dream Team,consisting of Russian superstar Philip Kirkorov, internationally acclaimed Greek composer Dimitris Kontopoulos and the multi talented Greek stage director and choreographer Fokas Evengelinos.

The same team was behind the 2014 Russian entry Shine performed by the Tolmachevy Twins in Copenhagen, the 2008 Ukranian entry Shady Lady performed by Ani Lorak in Belgrade.

Fokas Evangelinos

Fokas Evangelinos is an internally acclaimed stage director and choreographer and has been behind the staging of many Eurovision performances in the past years: Sakis Rouvas (Greece 2004, 2009), Helena Paparizou ( Greece 2o05), Dima Bilan (Russia 2006, 2008), Farid Mammadov (Azerbaijan 2013), Ani Lorak (Ukraine 2008), Dimitry Koldun (Belarus 2007)

Dimitris Kontopoulos

Dimitris Kontopoulos is an established Greek composer and producer and is also well known in the Eurovision world. He has composed various  Eurovision entries; Sakis Rouvas (Greece 2009), Farid Mammadov ( Azerbaijan 2013), Tomalchevy Twins ( Russia 2014) and Ani Lorak (Ukraine 2008).

Dimitris was also behind Anna Vissi‘s entry Welcome to the party at the 2006 Greek Eurovision national final and Kostas Martakis‘ entry Always Forever at the 2008 Greek Eurovision national final. He also composed Giannis Verdis’ entry Mia Stigmi at the 2003 Greek Eurovision national final.

He has composed and produced songs for Ani Lorak, Helena Paparizou, Sakis Rouvas and Kostas Martakis in the recent years.

Philip Kirkorov

Philip Kirkorov represented Russia at the 1995 Eurovision Song Contest in Dublin and enjoys fame and name both in Russia and overseas. The Russian superstar has produced many Eurovision entries for various countries in the past years: Dima Bilan (Russia 2006), Dimitry Koldun ( Belarus 2007), Ani Lorak (Ukraine 2008) and Tomalchevy Twins (Russia 2014).

Sergey Lazarev

Sergey Lazarev has been selected internally by Russian national broadcaster RTR and will have the grand honour of representing Russia at the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest. The 2016 Eurovision entry will be recorded and released in due course.

Sergey Lazarev is among Russia’s most sought after singers today, enjoying fame, name and recognition both at home and overseas. He has a great career and repertoire behind him. He has a grand tour scheduled in Russia in the coming months.

Russia debuted at the Eurovision Song Contest in 1994 and has won the event once in 2008 with Dima Bilan’s Believe.

The 2016 Eurovision Song Contest is scheduled to be held on 10, 12 and 14 May at the Ericsson Globe Arena in Stockholm, Sweden.

Stay tuned to ESCToday for the latest news on Russia and the 2016 Eurovision Song Contest.



ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!