Eurovision 2014: Winners of ESC Radio Awards

by Peter Russell 67 views

From 17 – 25 May, Eurovision Song Contest Radio held a special poll to determine the favourites of their listeners, and although Conchita with her entry Rise like a phoenix won the contest, respondents had a different view for this poll.

All in all, Hungarian entrant András Kállay-Saunders came out on top of the overall voting with his entry Running, winning Best Song with 8.8% of the vote, and Best Male Artist with 23.9% of the vote. Sweden’s Sanna Nielsen captured second place for Best Song with 8.5% of the vote with her entry Undo, and first place for Best Female Artist with 30.1% of the vote. Dutch folk group The Common Linnets captured the top spot in the Best Group category with 18.8%, followed by Freaky Fortune feat. RiskyKidd for Greece at 12.1% and Finland’s Softengine at third with 10.5%.

Despite capturing the votes and minds of the pan-European audience during the Grand Final, 2014 Eurovision winner Conchita Wurst came third in the Best Song category for her power ballad Rise like a phoenix with 7.8% of the vote, and second with 20.7% of the vote in the Best Female Artist category.

Here are the top 3 winners from each of the awards categories:

 Best Song Best Male Artist Best Female Artist Best Group
  1. András Kállay-Saunders
  2. Sanna Nielsen
  3. Conchita Wurst
    Rise like a phoenix
  1. András Kállay-Saunders
  2. Sebalter
  3. Aram MP3
  1. Sanna Nielsen
  2. Conchita Wurst
  3. Mariya Yaremchuck
  1. The Common Linnets 
    [The Netherlands]
  2. Freaky Fortune feat. RiskyKidd
  3. Softengine

Earlier this month, Austria’s Conchita Wurst won the Eurovision Song Contest 2014 in Copenhagen, Denmark with her entry Rise like a phoenix, therefore awarding Austria the right to host the 2015 and 60th edition of the contest next May.

For more on the Eurovision Song Contest, stay tuned to

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!