German Jury announced for national final

by Eliza-Jane Oliver 159 views

The five members of the jury for the German national selection final, Unser Song für Malmö, have been announced.

ARD the German national broadcaster has revealed the names of the 5  members of the jury that will play key role at the forthcoming German national final, scheduled to be held on 14 February in Hannover.

The members of the jury helping to decide who is going to be the German entrant in the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest in Malmo are:

Singer/songwriter Tim Bendzko, whose debut album Wenn worte meine sprache wären (If words were my language) sold over 300,000 copies and reached number 4 in the German charts.

Roman Lob, who represented Germany in the Eurovision Song Contest in Baku in 2012, finishing in 8th place with the song Standing still. He says, In Baku I had an absolute blast and am now looking forward to experience the whole thing from a different perspective. The uniqueness of the ESC is that there musicians from all over Europe coming together in one place.

Popular actress and singer Anna Loos. As well as acting in many TV shows and movies, she is the front woman of German rock band Silly, who have a new album Kopf an kopf (Head to head) coming out in March 2013, followed by a tour of Germany in May.

 Mary Roos, who is one of Germany’s most successful solo pop singers, has released music since the late 1950s. She has also represented Germany twice in the Eurovision Song Contest, coming third in Edinburgh in 1972 with Nur die liebe läßt uns leben (Only love lets us live) and then competing again in Luxembourg in 1984 with Aufrecht geh’n (Walk tall).

Popular radio personality Peter Urban, who is also the voice of Eurovision in Germany. He has been the commentator for the Eurovision Song Contest in Germany since 1997. He says of being selected to be in the jury, I am pleased that I can not just sit in the commentary booth, but also sometimes in the jury, I want to help you choose a strong song for Malmö.


Unser Song für Malmö (Our Song for Malmo) takes place at the TUI arena in Hannover at 20.15 CET on Thursday 14 February 2013. The winner will be decided by a three part voting process, with a third of the vote coming from the jury, a third by phone and SMS votes from the public on the night, and the remaining third in an internet vote run by 9 German radio stations in the week leading up to the show.

Stay tuned to for the latest information on Germany and the 2013 Eurovision Song Contest.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at!