Portugal: 12 finalists known on 31st January

by sónia pinto 43 views

As we are getting closer to the day of Festival da Canção 2009 where Portugal choses their representative for the 2009 Eurovision Song Contest, more details about this year's format are revealed.

The deadline for the submission of the songs to RTP ends onthe 12th January. On the 14th a jury appointed by RTP will start listening to all the songs in order to select the 24 that will be posted on the RTP site to be voted by the public, in the first ever portuguese online selection. The jury is composed by Fernando Martins, Ramon Galarza and Tozé Brito, three of the most famous Portuguese composers and producers, already withlarge experiencein Festival da Canção either as composers, producers or even singers (Tozé Brito represented Portugal in the Eurovision Song Contest 1978 as part of the band Gemini with the song Dai li dou).

The songs will be available online on the 19th but a few days before ( the exact date has not been decided yet) RTP will give a press conference announcingthe slection procedureand will be introducing the 24 pre selected songs for the online voting. On the 31st January , the 12 finalist songs of Festival da Canção 2009 will be announced.

Stay tuned to esctoday.com for more news about Festival da Canção 2009.

ESCToday is growing and always looks for new members to join our team! Feel free to drop us a line if you're interested! Use the Contact Us page or send us an email at [email protected]!